top of page

Co-Management Boards

Co-Management Led 

This project was conceptualized and carried out by a unique partnership among three co-management boards: the Torngat Wildlife & Plants Co-Management Board (Nunatsiavut), the Nunavut Wildlife Management Board (Nunavut), and the Nunavik Marine Region Wildlife Board (Nunavik). These co-management boards each have a responsibility for implementing sections of there respective Land Claim agreements that focus on wildlife co-management, and have mandates to support the long-term stewardship of key species such as polar bears. 


The Torngat Secretariat is the implementation agent of the Torngat Joint Fisheries Board and the Torngat Wildlife and Plants Co-Management Board. The primary responsibilities of the boards are to make recommendations to the Provincial Minister of Environment and Conservation in relation to the conservation and management measures of wildlife, plants, and habitat in the Labrador Inuit Settlement Area. 

NWMB_LogoVERT-Option 1-RGB.png

The NMRWB is the main instrument of wildlife management in the Nunavik Marine Region. The NMRWB aims to consider both western science and traditional Inuit knowledge, or Inuit Qaujimajatuqangit (IQ) when making wildlife management decisions. The NMRWB is an institution of public government that was created and operates under the Nunavik Inuit Land Claim Agreement (NILCA).

The Nunavut Wildlife Management Board (NWMB or Board) is an Institution of Public Government established in 1994. The NWMB was established in accordance with the Nunavut Agreement, which was ratified on May 25, 1993. The Board is the main instrument of wildlife management in the Nunavut Settlement Area (NSA) and is a co-management Board that consists of nine appointed members.  The Board and its co-management partners work together to combine the knowledge and understanding of wildlife managers, users, and the public to make decisions concerning the management of wildlife in Nunavut.

bottom of page